Glasgow Coma Scale Chart

The below Glasgow Coma Score Table provides the rules (Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS)) for assessing the level of consciousness in patients with head injury. The Glasgow Coma Scale Chart shows how a patient is assessed against the eye response, verbal response and motor response, for which 4, 5 and 6 elements are assessed respectively. GCS score is the sum of E, V, M scores. The lowest GCS (sum) is 3 (deep coma or death), while the highest is 15 (fully awake person).

Glasgow Coma Score Table

Grade Eyes Opening Verbal Response Motor Response
1 None NoneNo movements
2 In Response to PainTo Only Incomprehensible Sounds Extension to painful stimuli (decerebrate response)
3 In Response to Voice Utters Incoherent Words Abnormal flexion to painful stimuli (decorticate response)
4 Spontaneously Confused, Disoriented Flexion / Withdrawal to painful stimuli
5 N/A Normal Oriented ConversationLocalizes painful stimuli
6 N/A N/A Obeys commands

The Glasgow Coma Scale Chart is used to assess chronic patients in intensive care. GCS is one of several ICU scoring systems to assess the status of the central nervous system in a patient. An example of GCS Glasgow Coma score is: 'GCS 9 = E2 V4 M3 at 07:35'. Based on GCS, brain injury is classified as Severe (GCS < 8-9), Moderate (9-12) and Minor (GCS > or = 13).

english Calculators and Converters