Nuclear Decay Equation

There are three major types of nuclear decay which are alpha, beta, and gamma decay based upon the emission from the radioactive element. The radioactive materials contain unstable nuclei and undergo radioactive decay. The nuclear decay formula is calculated by multiplying 1000 with initial number of moles, exponent value of element and time period is divided by 1000. The nuclear decay equation is an efficient way to find the number of moles remaining in the nuclei.

Nuclear Decay Formula


c = (1000 x a x e-(log 2 / d) x b ) / 1000


c = Moles of Nuclei Remain
a = Initial Number of Moles of Nuclei
b = Time Period
d= Element

Related Calculator:

Find the remaining moles of the radioactive elements, using the nuclear decay formula. Verify your result by clicking the radioactive decay calculator link below the nuclear decay equation.

english Calculators and Converters